reviews

Honeymoon Alone – Nicole Macaulay

Honeymoon Alone – Nicole Macaulay

312 pages | Published December 2019

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

When predictable Lucy gets ditched by her date at her sisters wedding, and the psychic there tells her to listen to fate, she decides to give it a shot. When fate leads her to London over Christmas, Lucy sets out to try it all, becoming another version of herself. Before she knows it she is tangled in a web of lies and a certain someone is determined to figure her out. On a journey of self-discovery and risk taking, Lucy risks it all to follow fate, hoping that it takes her to happiness and not heartbreak.

This was a lot better than I was expecting. I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking after reading the back, but I was pleasantly surprised to say the least ☺️

The story was cute, easy to read and follow, and refreshing. I’ve seen comparisons to The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren, and I understand completely. Just like that other book I wasn’t able to put this one down. Chapter after chapter I wanted to know what she was going to get herself into next.

Lucy herself was very relatable because she was willing (for the most part) to throw herself into a situation that she wasn’t completely comfortable with, and I’ve been in the same position before. Actually, I’ve done that in London (and other parts of the United Kingdom) as well, and I definitely understood her panic and intense determination at times.

There were a couple of things that stopped me from giving this story five stars. Those being the ending, and the book cover. The entire book was cute and sweet, and as much as the ending was cute, I felt like we should’ve had more. It just ended, and left me trying to turn more pages but there was nothing left. I think it could’ve ended better with an epilogue to help wrap everything up. As for the cover, the entire book is around the Christmas holiday and New Years, but the cover shows her in what looks to me like summer attire when she wore thick sweaters and tons of layers the entire book. Even though the cover is nice to look at, and actually caught my attention when I saw it, I found it a little confusing, especially when I like to be able to see the story in the cover that it is portraying. Maybe it was just me that noticed this 🤷🏻‍♀️

As for this author, I can now say I’m a fan. This was her debut novel, and I was impressed. I will be looking forward to more of her work in the future. I liked the way her words flowed on the page, and how they are easy to follow. When I am looking for a fun romantic comedy, being able to continually read page after page in important to me, keeping me engaged with the characters as well as the story in general.

All in all, I enjoyed it, and Nicole Macaulay did great with this story. I will most likely read it again, and I would recommend it to someone looking for a cute story that would give them a smile 🤗

Leave a comment